Duplicate alert optons

From Active911 Documentation Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Introduction

A "duplicate alert" is an alert that is sent to us by your dispatch more that once. Dispatch centers do this for a variety of reasons. Sometimes it is just an accident. At other times, they are trying to advise you of changes that have been made to the original alert - for example, they may be adding additional units to the alarm, or changing the location.

You can control the criteria used to determine if an alarm is a duplicate. You can also control what your account does when it receives a duplicate.

What to do

To change these settings, you will need to log into your Active911 account and click on the tab with your department name on it. If you scroll down, you will see two settings that relate to duplicates. Each setting has three options, described below.

What should we do with duplicate alerts?

  1. Discard Silently throw the duplicate away
  2. Update Compare the new (duplicate) alarm with the old one, and update the notes section of the existing alarm with a descriptive comment. You will be re-paged.
  3. Passthru Pass through all duplicates as new alerts



What criteria determine what is a duplicate?

  1. CAD # Compare the CAD code or number that your dispatch is sending us. Identical CAD numbers mean the two alerts must be related. This works for calls within approximately 30 minutes of each other.
  2. Location Any alarm within 5 minutes of a previous alarm, within 0.05 miles, is considered a duplicate
  3. Loc/Title Any alarm within 5 minutes of a previous alarm, within 0.05 miles, with the same title, is considered a duplicate



Notes

  • If your dispatch center sends multiple pages, each with progressively more data (for example, some dispatch centers emit a new page message every time a new unit is added to an alarm), set the criteria to CAD # and the action to Update
  • If your dispatch center sends multiple messages for every alert simply because they are having problems or something on their end is broken, set criteria to CAD # or Loc/Title and the action to Discard
  • The Update feature will update the existing alarm with notes describing the time of the change, and the altered location, title, or units dispatched. All other fields are discarded. The map marker showing the alarm location does not move, even if the address is re-paged and updated.